A Beautiful Day!

It is starting to feel like summer in Kelowna, B.C. The last few days have been sunny and warm, which has inspired us to get outside and do some yard work.

Herbs in the pot, veggies in the garden.

Onions on the left, potatoes on the right.

Flowers planted around the pamphlet rack … hopefully I will be filling it up soon.

Well honestly living in a provincial park as the campground host really doesn’t require any yard work but we do putter around our site and keep it tidy.

The Oregon Grape is in full bloom and smells so pretty!

Park staff having been mowing lawns and working on the campground, getting it ready for a possible June opening.

The Saskatoon bushes are all in bloom.

We had some nice days early in the week so I was able to get our vegetable gardens going and yesterday I filled up all my plant pots.

The Okanagan Sunflower is also in bloom but it’s mostly along the hills and trail up to the waterfall and there are to many people walking along that trail for us to go up there. There is no way those people are social distancing, the trail is to narrow in many spots to keep a distance of six feet.

Today as we wandered around the park we commented on how strange it felt for it to be empty. Normally on Mother’s Day weekend the park is full … especially when the weather is so great. But we did enjoy the solitude as we sat outside and read our books for most of the day. We even enjoyed a gin and tonic this afternoon … there is just something about the warm sun and the clinking of ice in the glass that makes a G&T so inviting on a sunny warm day!

Nice view as I looked up from my book 🙂

And it looks like another great day tomorrow so I guess I will have to once again sit in my chair outside, read my book, and enjoy all my flowers 🙂

The finch are making quick work of the bird seed.

And I’m constantly filling the two hummingbird feeders.

I’m sure tomorrow will be a much different Mother’s Day for most mothers, but I hope you enjoy it and are able to use technology to visit with your mothers and children.

Until next time …

10 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day!

  1. Your garden will be bountiful with all the lovely sun and warmth. Happy Mother’s Day to you. Not sure how your park will work out with social distancing, etc. So many news things on the horizon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jan, I really thought with the warm warm weather you guys are having my bougainvillea would be dead! Happy Mother’s Day to you as well and I hope you are managing to stay somewhat cool.

      Like

Leave a comment