Interesting Blog Facts

When I was looking for an interesting fact to put in my 2016 Blog Facts I came across two websites loaded with blog facts and I thought I would share some of them. I have no idea how accurate the facts are, I just thought they were interesting and sounded reasonable … please don’t take them as gospel 🙂

The term blog comes from the words web and log. Jorn Barger first used the term weblog in 1997 and in 1999 Peter Merholz jokingly shorten the word weblog into we blog and the term blog came to be. This was from Wikipedia so it’s probably true.

It is said blogging started in mid nineties as a way to share a persons thoughts, more like a public diary. Today blogging has turned into a powerful medium and many use it as a source of income, although less than 10% earn enough to support a family and 80% earn less than $100.00. About one-fifth of bloggers have been blogging for more than six years.

WordPress (which I use) and Blogspot are the two most popular blogging platforms. While WordPress is a late entrant into blogging it has surpassed Blogspot in popularity with more than 40% of bloggers using it for their blogs.

There are over 1.5 billion blogs on the Internet, up from 23 blogs in 1999. Sixty million of those blogs are on WordPress. Every half-second a new blog is created. More than 60% of blogs are in English, other prominent languages include Spanish, Portuguese, and Indonesian.

Only one in five bloggers update their blog daily. Most blogs are read between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. That fits with 7:00 a.m. being the most popular time to read my blog … by 7:00 a.m. most days I have written and posted my blog, read the many blogs I read daily, and have moved on to coffee and my IPad puzzles 🙂

Most bloggers use social media to promote their blogs. We did hear at Bloggerfest that many bloggers post the link to their blog on Facebook every day to generate more interest.

81% of U.S. online consumers trust information and advice from blogs … oh my gosh please don’t take anything I say on my blog as gospel, it is only what I understand from what I have read … and believe me I could very well misunderstand, in fact maybe I misunderstood this fact 🙂

It is said that blogs with images get 94% more views, so I guess I better put in a picture or two!

2016-08-31 -022- Niagara On The Lake

We visited Niagara On The Lake in Ontario Canada last summer and I fell in love with the town. I would love to back at Christmas time because I’m sure it would have a very old fashion feel to it 🙂

2016-08-31 -021- Niagara On The Lake

More from Niagara On The Lake

Double rainbows over Okanagan Lake looking toward Kelowna, British Columbia.  Picture taken last summer.

Until next time …

4 thoughts on “Interesting Blog Facts

  1. Love your photos. I wander if that stoop planting was sweet potato vine. You made me laugh about not accepting your word. Very interesting about the number of blogs. Its like Alice’s rabbit hole. Each blog has a list and you can read for hours love your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love blogs…In fact, that’s why I am looking at yours right now. 🙂 I’m constantly looking for new ones to follow. I find that we get the best information and ideas about where to go and what to do from RV blogs. Magazine travel articles are fine, but a lot of times, they don’t necessarily capture the type of travel we want to do. So, for example, your article about your visit to the missile silos will get logged in my mind so when we are in that area, we’ll go visit. It’s unlikely I would have known about that place if not for happening upon it in your blog. And I personally love writing my blog because it’s a creative pursuit and allows me to remember where we’ve been and what we’ve done. It’s my favorite hobby these days. Anyway, just wanted to say hi and “nice blog!!” 🙂

    -Laura

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

