Wow No Rain!

For the first time since we left home, we packed up this morning without a torrential rain storm … but we paid for it 20 miles north of Newport when it started raining so hard we couldn’t see anything and the windshield wipers were not able to keep up, fortunately that didn’t last too long! Now if it would just stop raining and warm up long enough to dry out the carpets in the truck, life would be good 🙂

Driving through Boiler Bay, Oregon is probably wet no matter what the weather is like because the sea spray shoots high up into the air. We were able to find a place to pull over and get some pictures and a great video.

2014-10-23 -006- Boiler Bay OR2014-10-23 -009- Boiler Bay OR

This seagull was watching the view with us :-)

This seagull was watching the view with us 🙂

Hubby and I have very different ideas on what is a safe road to take Maxx on! Today many of the rest stops we came across had a road leading in and a different road leading out, so when I saw the road sign said “Loop Road” I told hubby it was okay to pull in. I think we ran into trouble when we went to leave, hubby thinks there was never an issue. When we were ready to leave we look at Holly (our GPS) and it looks like there may be a loop where we can go around, so off we go. The road quickly gets very narrow so I point out several places where I think we can turn around, not great places but hubby’s talented and I can stop traffic, so I think we are good to go. Hubby, on the other hand, thinks we should keep driving up the narrow road. We get to the road that leads to the loop and there is a sign “No RVs”. Now I really think we are in trouble because Holly indicates the road we are on peters out to a trail, so I again point out a few places I think, with gods help and hubby’s talent, we can turn around. But no, hubby thinks we should continue. The further up we go, the narrower the road gets and now we have come across two signs that say “Dead End” … yup I bet you are all on my side right now, we should have turned around when we had the chance, right? Not hubby, he calmly continues up the road and doesn’t it just figure, after a mile or so we come to a sign that says “SR101 Ahead”, where they just kidding when the two signs said “Dead End”! So we continue up a narrow, winding, one lane road … okay it was really pretty … and after about 4 miles we safely turn back onto the highway. How did he know that was going to happen!!! And then he has the nerve to calmly look at me and say, “I knew there was no problem, I could have found a driveway to turn around in”! At that point I just had to laugh, I don’t know how he does it 🙂

At least I got some nice pictures at the rest stop 🙂

2014-10-23 -010- SR101 OR

We arrived in Newport, Oregon around 1:00 p.m. and set up at the Port of Newport Marina. It’s a little pricey at $38.70 a night, but we have a view of the marina and the sites are paved. Generally I prefer grass but with all this rain it’s nice to step out onto something dry and firm 🙂

After a drive around Newport we decided to go back to Boiler Bay State Park and do some whale watching.

2014-10-23 -020- Boiler Bay State View Point OR

We were able to see several whales but they were to far out to get good pictures.  I will leave you with a picture of our awesome view from Maxx at the RV Park.

2014-10-23 -027- Port of Newport OR

Until next time …

Leave a Reply

