Another Gold☺

I imagine it was an early morning for a lot of people today but I’m sure glad we woke up early to watch the gold medal hockey game.  Thanks to my sister for this picture …

hockey funny

Since hubby woke up so early today he thought I should take him out for breakfast, which worked out well for me because I wanted to try out this fun restaurant I had seen a few weeks earlier.

2014-02-23 -01- Diner

Penny’s Diner is small but we were able to get space at the counter, which is way more entertaining than sitting in a booth!  All of the food prep is done right behind the counter so you can watch your meal being made.  It amazed us how well the cooks and servers worked together in the small area behind the counter, I’m sure I would have knocked over many meals if I were working back there.  We had a great breakfast and the meals were reasonably priced.  The coffee was good and only .95 cents, which is what I think coffee should be, why do restaurants have to charge $2.50 for a cup of coffee???  The menu at the restaurant had a great line on it “Ham & Eggs – a day’s work for a chicken, a lifetime commitment for a pig”:-)

After breakfast we took a drive out to Somerton, which is a small town just outside of Yuma near the Mexican border.  As you get close to the border the road borders Mexico on one side and we were able to get a closer look at the fence that runs along the border between Mexico and the United States.

I wonder how many sensors and cameras we set off driving up to this fence?

I wonder how many sensors and cameras we set off driving up to this fence?

I wonder who holds the key for this gate☺

I wonder who holds the key for this gate☺

I read that 800 people use to be apprehended in this area daily prior to the fence being installed, now border patrol catches 50 people or less per day.  I was surprised that they are still catching 50 people a day.

On our daily walk around the park today we checked out the beach.  A beach in Yuma you say, and yup that’s what I said, so we went to check it out.  I have to admit it was a bitter disappointment.  The beach is a clearing along the Colorado River and is mostly muck once you get to the water … I think I will stick to the pool.

Beach on the Colorado River

Beach on the Colorado River

Until next time …

One thought on “Another Gold☺

  1. I guess if we want bragging rights for the Olympic gold medal in both men’s and women’s hockey, then we have to embrace winter – but seriously, 24 hrs of steady but light snow, 6 inches, shovel, shovel, shovel, at the end of February?!? Yeah, True North!!
    (I’m guessing there’s a reason you don’t have a spare bedroom in Maxx)

    Like

Leave a Reply

